Lot No. 40 Canadian Rye Whisky

img_1880

Lot No. 40 Canadian Rye Whisky, non-age statement, ABV, 43%.

This is my first experience with this Canadian rye whisky.  I read that the 2012 release of this whisky has gained a lot of attention and some awards.  My bottle, recently acquired, does not have any date statement, so I make no claim about how this compares to the 2012 release.

From what I have read, the Lot No. 40 is distilled from a mash of 90% rye grain and 10% malted rye. I am not sure what this means, other than I suspect it provides a unique dimension to the flavor profile.  As you will see from my tasting notes, I think it works out very well.

The nose is rye bread, ginger, molasses.  It is a gentle tease of sweet rye and light spice.  On the palate, I again get rye bread, brown sugar, slight vanilla and molasses.  Just a bit of spicy notes as well, ginger and a subdued clove element.  While the foundational rye grain elements are dominant, I find a lot of complexity right below the surface.  Perhaps, more to my liking, is that it is a bit more dry than other rye expressions. The finish is medium in length, spicy, perhaps some ginger to complement the rye.

I have had the opportunity to sample some of the big names in rye, Sazerac 18, Thomas Handy, and I find that Lot 40 holds it’s own in this crowd.  It may not have some of the age and complexity, but when one factors in the much lower cost factor, this is an excellent alternative to the high priced, high profile, ryes.  It is certainly a rye that I like to drink neat, it is well balanced and provides a very pleasant experience.

If you want to begin to learn about rye, this would not be a bad place to start.

Leave a Reply

