Michter’s Single Barrel Straight Rye

img_1877

Michter’s US * 1 Single Barrel Straight Rye Whiskey. ABV 42.4%.

Once in a while, I like to sample other forms of whisky.  One alternative that I have been enjoying over the past couple years is rye.  I was first introduced to rye when sampling whisky from regional bottlers, and came across Templeton Rye in my drives through Iowa.  I found the taste of straight rye to be interesting, and started sampling a few.  As with single malts, I found interesting variations in nose and palate across many producers.  While I do occasionally enjoy a good Sazarac Cocktail, I mostly sip rye straight.

Michter is an interesting Rye. It is distilled based upon an old recipe dating back to 1753. It is no longer distilled in the original location, indeed the exact location is not disclosed. This Rye does not have an age statement, but is aged in barrels for least three years old. Since it is a single barrel bottling (a batch number is provided on each bottle), it is possible that you might find some subtle variations across batches.

It is sweet on the nose, with rye grain and vanilla on the nose. On the palate, it is sweetened grain with notes of vanilla, caramel and black cherry, followed by a little cinnamon spice. The finish is short and sweet.

Overall, a very respectable and drinkable whisky, but not all that complex of a flavor profile and sweeter than I prefer in a rye.

Here are a few ryes, including the Michter’s, that I am currently revisiting or discovering.

img_1871

Leave a Reply

