Glenmorangie Companta

glenmorangie compantaGlenmorangie Companta.  46% ABV.

As I have mentioned before, my preferences have for a time moved me in the direction of the Islay single malts.   But, lately I have been drawn to revisit some of my original favorites, particularly some of the highland single malts.   Glenmorangie single malts were a great introduction for someone new to this pursuit.

In contrast to the earlier Glenmorangies I sampled, the more recent offerings do not come with age statements.  But, the distillery does provide some background.  The Companta is a combination of a “vatting of 1999 vintage whisky finished for 4 years in Clos de Tart Burgundy casks and 1995 vintage whisky finished for 8 years in sweet fortifed Côte du Rhône wine casks” 

The nose hints to the wine heritage, with some sweetness and underlying earthy, leather, dry notes.

The palate surprised me, I was anticipating a tame entry.   It was spicy, with layers of semi-sweet chocolate and red wine undertones.   Gradually,the spicy notes converge to a lingering pepper.

The finish is wonderfully long, with hints of allspice and distinctly clove.

This is a most pleasant dram.  A rich complexity, distinctive flavors but the finish does not let you forget … that more than anything … that you are tasting a finely crafted whisky.   One I think I would prefer as an after dinner drink, it would follow a meal accompanied by a dry red wine quiet well.

 

Leave a Reply

